Andrea Strzelec

Credentials: PhD

Position title: Graduate Program Director, Instructor


Madison, Wisconsin

Andrea Strzelec

Dr. Andrea Strzelec is the program director for the Masters of Engineering in Engine Systems (MEES) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She re-joined UW-Madison in 2019. Previously, she was an assistant professor of Mechanical Engineering at Mississippi State University and Texas A&M University, after post doctoral fellowships at Pacific Northwest and Oak Ridge National Laboratories. She received her PhD. in combustion engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2009.

Dr. Strzelec teaches graduate courses in Thermal Systems Engineering, internal combustion engines, exhaust aftertreatment and combustion science. She has also taught undergraduate courses in automotive engineering, internal combustion engines, thermodynamics, heat transfer, thermal fluids analysis and design, and senior design. She is the recipient of the 2015 SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award and the Texas A&M Mechanical Engineering 2015 Brittian Undergraduate Teaching Award.

Dr. Strzelec’s research interests are in the area of combustion and heterogeneous reaction kinetics and characterization with specific focus on automotive emissions aftertreatment; low temperature catalysis; particulate filtration; pyrolysis; and remediation of hydrocarbon contamination. She has been PI (7), Co-PI (2) or Co-I (5) of 14 sponsored research projects totaling ~$1.85 million.

Dr. Strzelec's work has been published in top journals, including Topics in Catalysis, Energy & Fuels, Fuel, and International Journal of Engine Research. Additionally—along with co-author Dr. John Kasab of AVL—she is preparing a book for SAE titled Automotive Emissions Regulations and Exhaust Aftertreatment Systems.

Dr. Strzelec is active in several organizations, including: the Society of Automotive Engineers, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, American Chemical Society and CLEERS. She was recognized for her service with the 2016 SAE Forrest R. McFarland Service Award.